Type inference (completion hint) woes

I’m trying to convert a nodejs Express server implementation from TS to Haxe, so I started playing with haxe-js-kit, which seems to be the only complete set of Haxe externs for Express.js. I then noticed Haxe wouldn’t infer the types for the Request and Response params for the use() callback. Code example follows:

package server;

import js.npm.Express;

class Main {
  static var app = new Express();

public static function main() {
    app.use('/foo', (req, res) -> {}); // <-- HERE
    app.listen(Config.SERVER_PORT);
  }
}

The req and res parameters to the anonymous callback function are shown as Unknown<0> when I $type() them or hover over them in vshaxe, as you may see in this screenshot: Loading | Collabshot - annotate screenshots online with your friends.

The problem, it seems, is related to the way the parameters for the use function are implemented, basically a Rest typed as a abstracted called AbstractMiddleware that can convert to several other types depending on the context: haxe-js-kit/Middleware.hx at develop · clemos/haxe-js-kit · GitHub.

After some discussion on the #haxe Gitter channel, we didn’t come to a conclusion on why it wasn’t working, but @Gama11 was kind enough lend some of his time and came up with a solution that relies on EitherType.

typedef AbstractMiddleware = EitherType<MiddlewareErrorHandler, EitherType<MiddlewareResponder, EitherType<MiddlewareHandler, Middleware>>>;

This seems to solve and instruct Haxe to correctly infer the types for the aforementioned params, as you may see here:

Even though the EitherType solution seems to work, I’m intrigued on why the original solution based on an Abstract doesn’t.

Does anyone know what are the rules for resolving the right type for that abstract based off the expression passed as the argument of use()? Why would Haxe not infer the types in the example I showed at the beginning of this post?