Trying to compile haxe from source: having trouble with haxelib build

Hello everyone!

I’m new here and would like to start by thanking all the contributors for putting Haxe together. I really like the language and the concepts behind it.

I’m successfully using haxe from linuxbrew right now, but I’d like to build it from source as a little learning exercise. I have zero OCaml experience though.

Using the build instructions [1] and an old forum thread [2], I managed to get semi-far, but I’m stuck at the stage where it compiles haxelib from the extra/haxelib_src subdir of the main haxe repo.

Hopefully, all I require here is a pointer about which is the best commit of haxelib to use when building haxe 4.2.5.

The 4.2.5 tag of the haxe repo from Mar-6 '22 seems to have haxelib_src linked to haxelib_src @ 4b27f91, which seems to be the 4.0.2 tag of haxelib from Nov '19.

Is this the best commit of haxelib to use when making a fresh build of haxe+haxelib now, when one is going for a setup that’s as stable as possible?

If I use that, my build fails with

dune build --workspace dune-workspace.dev src-prebuild/prebuild.exe
_build/default/src-prebuild/prebuild.exe libparams -cclib -lpcre -cclib -lz -cclib -lmbedtls -cclib -lmbedx509 -cclib -lmbedcrypto > lib.sexp
_build/default/src-prebuild/prebuild.exe version "0" "" "" > src/compiler/version.ml
dune build --workspace dune-workspace.dev src/haxe.exe
cp -f _build/default/src/haxe.exe ./"haxe"
(cd /tmp/haxe/haxe-4.2.5/extra/haxelib_src && /tmp/haxe/haxe-4.2.5/haxe client.hxml && nekotools boot run.n)
Type not found : haxe.remoting.Connection
make: *** [Makefile:105: haxelib] Error 1

If I use the most recent commit, it fails with

dune build --workspace dune-workspace.dev src-prebuild/prebuild.exe
_build/default/src-prebuild/prebuild.exe libparams -cclib -lpcre -cclib -lz -cclib -lmbedtls -cclib -lmbedx509 -cclib -lmbedcrypto > lib.sexp
_build/default/src-prebuild/prebuild.exe version "0" "" "" > src/compiler/version.ml