Macros: when and why is #if !macro / #if macro required?

Hello,
I am new to haxe and learning macros.

1. I want to ask why if #if !macro / #if macro required? Because, on a quick glance of other languages with similar macro systems, none of them seem to be requiring any such thing. They automatically run the correct code in the macro context and non-macro context. Why can’t haxe implement such a feature?

2. Since, haxe does not automatically determine what code should be in macro context and what should not be, so my question is where all should I be using #if macro / #if !macro? i.e. under which conditions does the code is required to be put under #if.

I ask these questions because the error messages are incomprehensible for a beginner.
And I tried other languages, they did not require #if !macro equivalent and they generally have better error messages.
So, please answer the questions -

why does haxe require #if !macro when other languages don’t
can the error messages for haxe macro code be improved
and in what conditions is #if !macro/ #if macro required. (for e.g. i have seen plenty of code using it with import haxe.macro.Foo, and I have seen plenty of code which does not do it yet it still works, so when is it required, when is it not required.)

2 Likes

why does haxe require #if !macro when other languages don’t

Because we are special :wink:No its because macro’s run in different context and might or might not have same available fields/functions (see Macro Context - Haxe - The Cross-platform Toolkit).

and in what conditions is #if !macro / #if macro required. (for e.g. i have seen plenty of code using it with import haxe.macro.Foo , and I have seen plenty of code which does not do it yet it still works, so when is it required, when is it not required.)

I think general rule is; is it a macro? Isolate macros in #if !macro