Interactive fretboard 🎸

Hey there, I just released a personal project :guitar: https://interactive-fretboard.com

I am a Haxe developer with great passion for playing guitar. Lately I am trying to understand the guitar better and especially how the chords and scales are created and how they relate to the positions on the guitar. So I’ve build a online visualization that helped me on that. It started mostly as tool for myself, but I noticed this might be useful for others too. I still have to learn a lot myself, I starting to get some parts from theory perspective, but I don’t have them all “in the fingers” yet.

I noticed while creating the website that the theory behind chords actually is relative simple actually, just some “intervals over intervals”, from a programmer perspective that was wasn’t the hardest part. Mapping the theory to real guitar playing is of course a lot harder. Then it helps when you can easily visualize everything during practice sessions. For example, I like to switch between note names and intervals (since lots of online tutorials talk about such steps) and switch easily to different keys.

The website is build with Haxe 4 + coconut.vdom, which is a really great experience (type-safe, reactive views, component based, pure Haxe).

Ask me anything.

TLDR; If you play guitar/ukulele/banjo/mandolin, you might find this interesting:
https://interactive-fretboard.com

19 Likes

Quite nice! Congrats!

Ask me anything.

1. How do you handle bundling? (I’m assuming you don’t use any bundler and just use the raw bundled js from Haxe?); what is the final size of the bundle, including any external assets you use?