Haxe - to make things clear!

What is Haxe exactly? a multiplatform language! But you can’t create a project in haxe language, it doesn’t exist! We must choose a project language (C ++, C #, JS, OpenFL, etc.), however it seems that openfl uses the haxe language, but with its own framework which is directly inspired by AS3. I ask myself the question, is Haxe just a kind of container of languages? if i create a C # project in which language will i have to code? in C # or in Haxe? I am a old AS coder, do I have to learn Xaxe or OpenFL?

Edit:
At the time of AS3, I coded with stage3D (for video among others) today replaced by Starling, there again, I do not understand well, Starling is a Framework in itself and more in the book learning stayed for AS3 and at no point does it refer to OpenFL, the tests I did starting from an empty project ended in failure. once again, I cannot start properly. The thing that I have managed for the moment is in Openfl to draw two Sprites and display them in a simple display list with addChild () … it annoys me to have become so stupid …
Bearing it, my last job was this without stage3D: SwissTransfer.com - Send large files securely and free of charge
I must not have been so stupid at the time to do that !! I am angry with myself! really and desperate. I think they destroyed my brain with their rays and their chemotherapy … shit! Sorry for my bad language…

Welcome to Haxe!

Haxe is a programming language. It compiles code written in Haxe to another language. Just like most programming languages you can do many many things with it; create utilities, draw visual stuff on screen, AI, math tools, query databases, create websites, apps, command line tools, games, enterprise applications etc. You can even create a new programming language in Haxe. Or maybe even a complete operating system or your own browser. Of course it depends on creativity / skill / invested time how far you can take it.