Error: Multiple targets

Beginner here, just downloaded haxe and vscode and starting on hello world projects
and getting variants of this

other errors include “you cannot access the cpp package while targeting cross”
i am out of ideas and any insight is much appreciated

Both error points to your build.hxml, with either too much or not enough target selected (you should have only one).

Can you show us build.hxml?

More information on it HXML - Haxe - The Cross-platform Toolkit

Unrelated, but considering the indentation in that screenshot, you may want to have a look at Auto Indentation · vshaxe/vshaxe Wiki · GitHub.

1 Like

here you go,figured it was something wrong with the build file but still no clue how to fix it

What about .vscode/launch.json (and .vscode/tasks.json if it exists)?

launch
.vscode/launch.json

and
tasks

.vscode/tasks.json

new users are capped at 1 img per post

Hm, not sure where the second target comes from then… or do you perhaps also have a settings.json with haxe.configurations?

ah, the build.hxml wasn’t saved, this is the actual one
actual build

Well, yes, that contains multiple targets as the error states (neko and interp) - that’s not going to work.

yeah figured as much, any advice ? or at least point me to the right direction?

Advice for what exactly? I’m not sure what you’re trying to do…

well… a hello world code that ended in a dumpster fire. the code was from a haxe guide book

however nothing is mentioned about the build.hxml file and it apparently is too basic for any tutorials i found to cover
either way i just found some docs on github on the issue
thanks for ur help :smiley:

A book intended for Haxe 2 is perhaps not the best starting point in 2020 anyway (when we’re at Haxe version 4)… :wink:

The resources on haxe.org itself should be fine for getting started:

Hi, gccc.

You need to make one hxml file for each target you wish to compile to.