Create a Haxe library for zeromq

Hi,

I’m a beginner in Haxe, but not in other object languages.
I’m decided to test Haxe 4 abilities, by creating a Haxe library for zeromq framework (https://zeromq.org/).

Zeromq library is written in C, and bindings exist in all Haxe targets (ØMQ Language Bindings - zeromq). It even exists a binding for Haxe (hxzmq), but if I have well understood, it only works with C++, nekovm and PHP targets, and it is not maintained anymore.

What I would like to do is to create a Haxe library providing a common interface for zeromq in Haxe language. And for each target, a corresponding binding is used in compilation of whole application code for this target.

I will do it in Haxe 4.
How should I do it ?
Is there another Haxe library doing the same thing for another external library and for all possible targets, that I could use to inspire me ?

Well if there is an old Haxe library supporting some zeromq targets then it sounds like the best point to start. You can always add more targets.

Normally I agree, but:

• it is 8 years old, written with an old version of Haxe, not with Haxe 4
  • it is delivered with an old version of zeromq
  • it is coded for C++

I would like to make a library independent to zeromq version, dependent to the one installed on the system. I think it will be more durable.

Haxe doesn’t have a universal way to integrate native libraries. If you are looking to do a universal integration of the native zeromq library with many Haxe targets it’ll still require to essentially integrate zeromq platform by platform.

• Cpp / HL targets could use the modern ammer native extension library: GitHub - Aurel300/ammer: Unified FFI for Haxe native extensions - you should still take inspiration of what the old Haxe library as beyond loading the library it needs to implement a Haxe-friendly event loop,